Now Playing
Today, Mon, Apr 24, 2017
Coming Attractions Special Events
Tue, Apr 25
4pm ♿
Tue, Apr 25
Thu, Apr 27
Tue, May 2
Thu, May 4
7pm ♿
Wed, Apr 26
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Wed, May 10
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Thu, May 11
1 & 7pm
Tue, May 16
Thu, May 18
Tue, May 23
Thu, May 25
7pm ♿
Wed, May 24
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Tue, May 30
Thu, June 1
Tue, June 6
Thu, June 8
7pm
Wed, June 7
5:30 ♿, 7:30 ♿, 9:30 ♿
The Royal Opera: Madama Butterfly

The Royal Opera: Madama Butterfly

Wed, April 19 1 & 7pm

To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

Antonio Pappano conducts an impressive cast led by Ermonela Jaho in Puccini's deeply poignant opera.

Puccini's Madama Butterfly is one of the most popular of all operas, with ravishing music and a heartbreaking story of a loving geisha deserted by a callous American husband. Much-loved soprano Ermonela Jaho sings the title role for the first time at Covent Garden, in Moshe Leiser and Patrice Caurier's stunningly beautiful production.

The exotic imagery of the Nagasaki setting is drawn from 19th-century Western artists' romanticized views of Japan. Puccini's music brings alive the birdsong of the morning, the ritual of a wedding and the seduction by naval officer B.F. Pinkerton (sung by exciting young tenor Marcelo Puente) of his young, innocent bride. Well known moments include the impassioned aria 'Un bel di' (One fine day) as the abandoned Cio-Cio-San clings vainly to her dreams.

Royal Opera Music Director Antonio Pappano, acclaimed for his interpretations of Italian opera, conducts this intense and gripping journey from light and excitement to darkness and self-sacrifice.

ADA Accessible

Daily Showtimes
Wed, April 19
1pm ♿  
7pm ♿  
Film Facts
Running Time
165
Genre
Live Opera
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Ermonela Jaho
Marcelo Punte
Scott Hendricks
Carlo Bosi
Produced by
Moshe Leiser
Patrice Caurier
Admission & Prices

Adult $21
Senior $19
Child $16

*Prices subject
to service charge

ADA Accessible