Now Playing
Today, Mon, Jun 26, 2017
Norman (R)
Coming Attractions Special Events
Tue, June 27
Thu, June 29
7pm ♿
Wed, June 28
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Tue, July 11
Thu, July 13
Tue, July 18
Thu, July 20
7pm ♿
Wed, July 12 1pm ♿
7pm ♿
Wed, July 26 4pm ♿
Wed, July 19
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Tue, July 25
Thu, July 27
Tue, Aug 8
Thu, Aug 10
7pm ♿
Tue, Aug 1
Thu, Aug 3
Tue, Aug 15
Thu, Aug 17
7pm ♿
Community Cinema: The Powerbroker

Community Cinema: The Powerbroker

FREE SCREENING!
Wed, February 13 7pm

Whitney M. Young, Jr. was one of the most celebrated - and controversial - leaders of the civil rights era. As head of the National Urban League, he helped thousands of people struggling against discrimination. Unique among black leaders, he took the fight directly to the powerful white elite, gaining allies in business and government, including three presidents. He was the man working behind the scenes, shaking the right hands, making the right deals, and opening the doors of opportunity for all Americans.

The Powerbroker follows Whitney Young's journey from segregated Kentucky to the national campaign for equal rights. During the turbulent 60s, he was a dilpomat between those in power and those striving for change. Young had the difficult tasks of calming the fears of white allies, relieving the doubts of fellow civil rights leaders, and responding to attacks from the militant black power movement. This complex tale explores the public and private trials of the man at the center of the storm.

Film Facts
Running Time
TBA
Genre
Documentary
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Howard Zinn
Donald Rumsfeld
Directed By
Taylor Hamilton
Christine Khalafian
Admission & Prices

To Purchase Tickets
Click HERE

Adult $12.50
Senior (62+) $10
Child (11 and under) $10
Students (with valid student ID) $10
Bargain Matinees
Daily, before 5:30, $10